Google+ data bug exposes 52.5 million user’s information

For people not in the know, Google have a social media platform called Google+ although Google+ has been around for a great many years, its never really taken off with popularity of other social media platforms for one reason or another.

Back in October 2018, Google made users aware that it had found a major security vulnerability which was impacting around half a million Google+ users. Google at the time made the decision to close down Google+ in August 2019.

What happened?

However, on the 10th December, Google detected another security vulnerability with its Google+ API that could expose information on 52. 5 million of its Google+ users. This information is made up of names, email addresses, occupation, gender, birthday, relationship status and age, a huge amount of personal information that should not be accessible via unauthorised means.  Google has since decided, upon this latest issue, to shutdown its social media service four months earlier, April 2019 and its API service will cease functioning within the next 90 days.

What the information exploited?

Whilst this bug in the API can potentially impact a huge amount of users, Google has stated that it has found no evidence that the bug has been exploited in the while and that the data has not been misused and that the software bug has already been fixed.

What should I do?

If you have a Google+ account and you don’t use it, you should look at deleting your account sooner rather than later, in case another vulnerability/bug is discovered. You can delete your Google+ Account by following the below steps:

  • Log in to your Google+ account.
  • Click the drop-down menu in the top left corner of the page and select Settings.
  • Scroll down to Disable Google+and click Delete your entire Google profile here.
  • Scroll to the bottom of the page and check the box next to
  • Click Remove selected services.
Menu